Strength for the Family

“What is holiness really? It’s the result of living in the peace and joy of the beatitudes. The Eight Beatitudes are the heart of Jesus’ preaching. […] Christian families are called to live the beatitudes in and outside of the home.” ~Strengthening Your Family: A Catholic Approach to Holiness at Home, Chapter Nine: Church in Miniature

adventDon’t we usually think of holiness as something meant only for canonized saints? Yet, it’s for all of us. Every single one of us, through the grace of God, has the capacity to become a canonized saint. The saints weren’t born that way – they grew into their sanctity by taking on the spirit of the beatitudes and living them faithfully, day in and day out. Holiness takes diligence; it’s a process not a birthmark.

Straws for the Crib

Take a few minutes today to read the Eight Beatitudes (you can find them in the Gospel of Matthew, chapter 5, verses 3-11). Read them slowly, letting them really sink into your mind and heart. Then, choose one beatitude to work on in an exceptional way throughout the day.


Categories: Blog


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *